Young Musicians Contest


Follow in the footsteps of winners of the Michael Ben and Illene Komisarow Maurer Young Musicians Contest who are now musicians in orchestras across the nation, including the ISO! The Michael Ben & Illene Komisarow Maurer Young Musicians Contest encourages accomplished young Indiana musicians (through grade 12) to set and achieve goals of technical and artistic excellence by providing an opportunity to perform in a competitive setting.

Beginning in the 2019-20 season, the winner of the Young Musicians Contest will perform their prizewinning concerto with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra during our annual Side-by-Side Concert. 

The winner of the 2019-20 Michael Ben and Illene Komisarow Maurer 
Young Musicians Contest is Phillip Hammond.

Join us on Wednesday, March 4, 2020 as Phillip performs Saint-Saëns' Concerto No 3 in B Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 61 with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.  

Phillip showed, very early on, a love for music and a special gift for the violin.
He was four and a half years old when he started the violin. He currently studies
with Mimi Zweig at the Indiana University String Academy, after previously
studying with Brenda Brenner. He won First Prizes at the 2016 and 2017
Indianapolis New World Young Artist Competition, Junior and Senior
Divisions, respectively. First Prize at the 2017 Rocky Ridge Music Center
Concerto Competition in Colorado. He has performed Kabalevsky’s C
Major Concerto (2016) and Lalo’s Symphonie Espagnole (2017) with 
the New World Symphony Orchestra, Adam Bodony conducting.
Soloist with the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra performing the
Bruch G Minor Concerto, Alejandro Gómez conducting. In June of 2016,
he went with Indiana University’s Violin Virtuosi to Argentina on a very
successful five city tour. Concertmaster of the Chamber Orchestra at the
2016 String Academy, Indiana University.


Congratulations to The 2019-20 Runners-Up:

David Du (Second Prize)
Abigail Ko (Third Prize)
William Mayhew, Mishael Paraiso, and Trinity Le (Finalist Awards of Excellence)


Contest Dates & Information for 2020-21 will be posted in march 2020




Prizewinner will perform the winning concerto with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra at the annual Side-by-Side Concert.

In recognition of the many volunteers who generously and enthusiastically give their time to prepare for this contest.

In honor of Frances M. Murphy and the late M. Porter Murphy.

All prizes will be awarded at the discretion of the judges.



ISO Association Office - 317.262.4068 or

Make a Gift

We can't do what we love — making music — without you.

Contact Us



Email Us

Rent the Hilbert Circle Theatre

Host your event at the Hilbert Circle Theatre, one of Indy's most beloved historical sites on Monument Circle.

Rental Info