Michael Ben & Illene Komisarow Maurer Young Musicians Contest

The 2021-2022 winners are as follows:

The First Prize ($2,500) has been awarded to Cooper Olsen, violin. Cooper will perform their winning concerto with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra on Saturday, March 5, 2022.

Second Prize ($1,500), awarded in recognition of the many volunteers who generously and enthusiastically give their time to prepare for this contest, has been awarded to Ethan Murphy, cello.

Third Prize ($750), awarded through The William Murphy, CPA, Charitable Trust, has been awarded to Abigail Ko, violin.

Finalist Awards of Excellence have been awarded to all of our finalists, which includes the students listed above, as well as, Allyson Donnelly, Miranda Isbitts, and Arjun Siderys.

The 2020-2021 First Prize ($2,000) winners will also perform their winning concerto with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra on Saturday, March 5, 2022. A tie between Micah Young, piano and Serge Kalinovsky, cello was determined.

Meet the 2021 Finalists

Micah Young, piano

Micah is a high school student in Fishers, IN. He will be performing this Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto with the ISO.

Serge Kalinovsky, cello

Serge lives in Bloomington, IN and studies at the IU String Academy. He will perform Herbert's Cello Concerto with the ISO.

Cooper Olsen, violin

Cooper is a high school student who lives in Bloomington, IN. Cooper will perform the Ruslan and Lyudmila Overture and Poème, Op. 25 with the ISO.

Abigail Ko, violin

Abby is a high school student in Carmel, IN and studies violin in Bloomington.

Ethan Murphy, cello

Ethan is a Bloomington, IN resident who has been playing cello since age 5.

Contest Information

Check back for more information regarding Preliminaries for 2022-23.


For answers to any outstanding questions, please contact 317.262.4068 or MaurerYoungMusiciansContest@gmail.com or

Request Information