Classical Series

Schumann, Mozart & Shostakovich’s First Symphony

Hilbert Circle Theatre

Indianapolis, Indiana
Plan Your Visit
Select a Date and Time to Purchase Tickets

Buy Tickets

Already purchased tickets? Purchase Valet Parking


The Performance

Acclaimed violinist Francesca Dego joins the ISO for this delightful program led by conductor Asher Fisch. Robert Schumann’s Overture, inspired by Lord Byron’s dramatic poem Manfred, displays Byron’s restless passion. Violin Concerto No. 5, written when Mozart was 19 years old in 1775, captures the era’s rage for the exotic with elements of “Turkish” music in the finale, while Shostakovich’s First Symphony, completed before he turned 19, brought him world renown. 


Program to Include

Manfred Overture

Robert Schumann

Violin Concerto No. 5 (“Turkish”)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 1

Dmitri Shostakovich

Artistic Leadership

Learn more about Asher Fisch
Asher Fisch


Francesca Dego

See All Evening Classical Series

View Events