Coffee Classical Series

Welcome to the United States of America

Hilbert Circle Theatre

Indianapolis, Indiana
Plan Your Visit

The Performance

The musical potpourri of North America from the last century sets us off on our musical journey this season. Kevin Day’s energetic and newly written Lightspeed precedes Barber’s Violin Concerto, which emerged from the shadows of WWII. The 1930s gave us Copland’s Short Symphony, and stellar piano player and jazz composer James P. Johnson—arguably the most important Black musician in New York in the 1920s—wrote Drums, which was lost for 40 years. 

Artistic Leadership

Miguel Harth-Bedoya


Augustin Hadelich

Program to Include

Lightspeed Fanfare for Orchestra

Kevin Day

Violin Concerto

Samuel Barber

Symphony No. 2 "Short Symphony"

Aaron Copland

Drums: A Symphonic Poem

James Price Johnson

See All Coffee Classical Series

View Events