Classical Series

Welcome to the United States of America

Hilbert Circle Theatre

Indianapolis, Indiana
Plan Your Visit

Series Sponsors

DeHaan Family Foundation

The Performance

The musical potpourri of North America from the last century sets us off on our musical journey this season. Kevin Day’s energetic and newly written Lightspeed precedes Barber’s Violin Concerto, which emerged from the shadows of WWII. Pulitzer-winning Jennifer Higdon imbues the feel of a postmodern jig to “Jumble Dance.” The 1930s gave us Copland’s Short Symphony, and stellar piano player and jazz composer James P. Johnson—arguably the most important Black musician in New York in the 1920s—wrote Drums, which was lost for 40 years. 

Listen to Augustin Hadelich performing Barber.

Enjoy this playlist featuring pieces from the 2021–22 DeHaan Classical Series.

Artistic Leadership

Miguel Harth-Bedoya


Augustin Hadelich

Program to Include

Lightspeed Fanfare for Orchestra

Kevin Day

Violin Concerto

Samuel Barber

Dance Card: No. 3, Jumble Dance

Jennifer Higdon

Quiet City

Aaron Copland

Symphony No. 2 "Short Symphony"

Aaron Copland

Drums: A Symphonic Poem

James Price Johnson

Series Sponsors

DeHaan Family Foundation

See All Evening Classical Series

View Events