Classical Series

Welcome Back to the United States of America: Barber’s 1st Symphony

Hilbert Circle Theatre

Indianapolis, Indiana
Plan Your Visit

Series Sponsors

DeHaan Family Foundation

The Performance

Canadian-American conductor Peter Oundjian explores the music of North America with the ISO, starting with William Grant Still’s Poem for Orchestrawhich Still’s wife says was “inspired by the concept of a world being reborn spiritually after a period of darkness and desolation.” Florence Price— the first Black woman to have her music performed by a major U.S. orchestra—honors her African-American heritage with a movement of her String Quartet, arranged here for orchestra by Oundjian. Barber’s unbroken Symphony No. 1 releases its titanic strength and energy, and the ISO commissions a new work by young Atlanta-based African American composer Joel Thompson, recently celebrated in the New York Times for his moving work “Seven Last Words of the Unarmed.” 

Artistic Leadership

Peter Oundjian

Program to Include

Poem for Orchestra

William Grant Still

"To Awaken The Sleeper" based on text by James Baldwin (ISO co-commission)

Joel Thompson

Andante from String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor

Florence Price, arr. Peter Oundjian

Symphony No. 1, Op. 9

Samuel Barber

Series Sponsors

DeHaan Family Foundation

See All Evening Classical Series

View Events