Michael Francis Conducts Elgar

Elgar said, "My idea is that there is music in the air, music all around us, the world is full of it and you simply take as much as you require." The Dream of Gerontius, Op. 38, is widely considered to be one of the greatest works for voices and orchestra. Elgar composed the piece to text from the poem by John Henry Newman to relate the journey of a pious man's soul after death. The piece is widely regarded as Elgar's finest choral work, and some consider it to be his masterpiece. 

Please note that your concert ticket alone does not grant you access to the pre-concert Brunch, Brunch tickets must be purchased ahead of time. This season, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra welcomes you to experience our brand new Brunch Series! Enjoy classical repertoire by the ISO on a leisurely Sunday afternoon. Subscription Packages to all three full-length performances are available for $120. Brunch may be added on to any single concert for an additional charge of $30.

Brunch will be served in the Wood Room – mimosas included! Brunch begins at 12:30 p.m. and the performance begins at 2 p.m.


This performance is at the historic Hilbert Circle Theatre. Doors will open one hour before the performance.



The program book will be posted closer to the performance date.​

Buy Tickets



The Dream of Gerontius

Michael Francis


Michelle DeYoung


Anthony Dean Griffey


Matthew Brook


Eric Stark

Indianapolis Symphonic Choir Director

Indianapolis Symphonic Choir

Make a Gift

We can't do what we love — making music — without you.

Contact Us



Email Us

Rent the Hilbert Circle Theatre

Host your event at the Hilbert Circle Theatre, one of Indy's most beloved historical sites on Monument Circle.

Rental Info